Guide To The New Paid Sick Leave Law, effective October 29, 2018

GUIDE TO THE NEW PAID SICK LEAVE LAW

Assembly Bill No. 1827, concerning earned sick leave for employees, was recently signed into law and goes into effect October 29, 2018.

General Information:

Sick leave applies to all workers, full- and part- time, employed in the State of New Jersey, with the exception of: construction workers under contract pursuant to collective bargaining: per diem healthcare employees; or public employees already provided with sick leave.

Beginning on October 29, 2018, or on the date that the employee is hired (whichever occurs later) employee earns one (1) hour os sick leave for every 30 hours of work.

Sick leave must be paid at the same rate and with the same benefits that the employee normally earns.

The pay rate shall not be less than minimum wage.

Employees can use sick leave after 120 calendar days from start of their employment.

Employees can earn up to 40 hours over a 12-month consecutive period, also known as benefit year.

Employers cannot require the employee using sick leave to find a replacement to cover the hours that they are using sick leave.

To learn more: State Chamber Paid Sick Leave Guide (1)

By | 2018-09-14T15:29:02+00:00 September 14th, 2018|Business Advice, Chamber News, Featured|2 Comments

About the Author:

2 Comments

  1. Sandi October 7, 2018 at 4:43 pm

    How is rate of pay for time off determined if employee is paid on commission?

    • Danielle Norcross October 8, 2018 at 5:53 pm

      According to the New Jersey Business and Industry Association (NJBIA), the law does not address how to calculate the rate of pay for employees paid on commission. See https://www.njbia.org/three-unanswered-questions-about-njs-paid-sick-leave-law/

      We recommend that you consult with an employment lawyer on this issue, or contact the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce directly at (609) 292-7060.

Comments are closed.

X